

The first meeting of Kaipara District Council following the Mayoral By-election 2018 Swearing in the Mayor

Minutes

Meeting	Kaipara District Council	
Date	Friday 23 February 2018	
Time	Meeting commenced at 9.02am Meeting concluded at 9.15am	
Venue	Northern Wairoa War Memorial Hall (Dargaville Town Hall), 37 Hokianga Road, Dargaville	
Status	Confirmed	

Membership

Chair: Mayor Jason Smith

Members: Deputy Mayor Peter Wethey

Councillor Anna Curnow

Councillor Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock

Councillor Julie Geange

Councillor Libby Jones

Councillor Karen Joyce-Paki Councillor Jonathan Larsen

Councillor Andrew Wade

Shelley Paniora Executive Assistant

09 439 3123

spaniora@kaipara.govt.nz



Contents

1	Opening	. 1
1.1	Mihi	. 1
1.2	Council Waiata	. 1
1.3	Present	. 1
1.4	Apologies	. 1
2	Declaration of Results of Mayoral By-election 2018	. 2
3	Statutory Declaration by Mayor-Elect to Acting Chief Executive	. 2
Closure		. 2

Minutes of the first meeting of Kaipara District Council following the Mayoral By-election 2018 9.00am Friday 23 February 2018, Dargaville

1 Opening

[Secretarial Note: Pursuant to clause 14 of schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, Deputy Mayor Wethey chaired this meeting until Mayor Smith was sworn in by the Acting Chief Executive. Mayor Jason Smith assumed the Chair thereafter.]

1.1 Mihi

Executive Assistant to Chief Executive opened the meeting with a karakia. Operations Engineer welcomed the new Mayor-Elect with a mihi.

1.2 Council Waiata

Staff sang the Kaipara District Council Waiata.

1.3 Present

Mayor Jason Smith, Deputy Mayor Peter Wethey and Councillors Anna Curnow, Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock, Julie Geange, Libby Jones, Karen Joyce-Paki and Jonathan Larsen

Name	Designation	Item(s)
Peter Tynan	Acting Chief Executive	All
Curt Martin	Chief Operating Officer and	All
	General Manager Infrastructure	
Fran Mikulicic	General Manager Regulatory, Planning and Policy	All
Hannah Gillespie	General Manager People and Capability	All
Robert Nelson	Acting General Manager Risk, IT and Finance	All
Shelley Paniora	Executive Assistant to CE	All
Brian Armstrong	Operations Engineer	All
Ben Hope	External Public Relations Officer	All
Linda Osborne	Administration Manager	All
Lisa Hong	Administration Assistant	All (Minute-taker)

Members of the public and other Council staff were also present.

1.4 Apologies

Councillor Andrew Wade was absent without apologies.



2 Declaration of Results of Mayoral By-election 2018

Declaration of result by Deputy Mayor

Deputy Mayor Wethey declared the Electoral Officer's results of the 2018 Mayoral By-election for the Kaipara district and welcomed the new Mayor-Elect.

3 Statutory Declaration by Mayor-Elect to Acting Chief Executive

Acting Chief Executive 1301.01/2018E

Declaration by Mayor-Elect

Mayor-Elect Smith was sworn in by the Acting Chief Executive as the Principal Administrative Officer pursuant to clause 14 of schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, by making a verbal and written declaration as below:

I, Jason Smith, declare that I will faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of my skill and judgement, execute and perform, in the best interests of the Kaipara district, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon me as Mayor of the Kaipara District Council by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

After being sworn in by the Acting Chief Executive, Mayor Smith assumed the Chair.

Moved Larsen/Curnow

That Kaipara District Council receives the declaration of the results of the Kaipara District Council Mayoral By-election 2018, as notified by public notice on 21 February 2018.

Carried

Closure

The meeting closed at 9.15am.

Confirmed 28 March 2018

Chair Mayor Smith

Kaipara District Council

Dargaville